Industry News

NRB Radio Station of the Year – WMIT

2022 NRB Media & Special Service Awards were announced today. WMIT/Ashville (The Light FM) was named Radio Station of the Year. 

The Light FM GM John Owens told HisAir, “With all that is going on in the world today, it’s a blessing to be able to come alongside our listeners and provide the hope and encouragement found in Christ through The Light FM. I’m proud of how intentional our team is in fulfilling our mission of leading as many people as possible into a relationship with Christ.”

The awards recognize the most outstanding ministries, organizations, and programs/producers in the world’s largest association of Christian communicators. The annual NRB Awards program is designed to encourage excellence in production, service to the community, faithfulness to the mission, commitment to the Gospel, and personal integrity.

“It’s our honor to recognize these NRB members for excellence and effectiveness in Christian media and sharing the Gospel,” NRB CEO Troy A. Miller said. “We look forward to presenting these awards in March at NRB 2022.”

NRB Special Service Awards are presented to individuals and organizations who model excellence, integrity, and longstanding service in Christian communications. NRB Media Awards are presented to organizations and ministries for creativity, excellence, and effectiveness in their respective fields. To learn more about each award type, click here.

All award recipients will be honored during the NRB 2022 Christian Media Convention, which will take place March 8-11, 2022, at the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center in Nashville, Tennessee.

The recipients of the 2022 NRB Media and Special Service Awards are as follows:



Radio Station of the Year

WMIT/Ashville (The Light FM)

Radio Program of the Year

Allen Jackson Ministries

Radio Impact Award

Doug Doran – New Life Radio


NRB Hall of Fame Award

Ron Harris – MEDIAlliance

Bob Lepine – Family Life Today

Board of Directors Award

Shannon Bream – FOX News

William Ward Ayer Award

Lois Evans – The Urban Alternative (posthumously)

Doug Hastings – Moody Radio

Billy Graham Award

Love Worth Finding Ministries

Milestone Award

Back to the Bible

Point of View Ministries, Inc.

Tony Hart – GOGF Ministries

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *