Industry News

KLTY Wins Its 8th Marconi Award

KLTY/Dallas has won the 2023 Marconi Award for Religious Station of the Year. The presentations were made during the Marconi Radio Awards Dinner, held as part of the NAB Show in New York last night. It was the 8th time KLTY has won the Marconi in the history of the station.

Salem Media Group President of Broadcast Media Allen Power who was in NY to accept the award for KLTY told HisAir today, KLTY’s multi year streak of Marconi Award recognition has been extensive because our Dallas team continues to find new ways to serve the DFW community and encourage the hearts of their listeners. We’re grateful to them for their dedication to excellence, to our listeners for their loyalty and to God for His blessings!”

Established in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi, the NAB Marconi Radio Awards are given to radio stations and outstanding on-air personalities to recognize excellence in radio.

KLTY PD Mike Prendergast tells HisAir, “What an honor and a privilege to share this year’s National Association of Broadcaster’s Marconi Award for Religious Station of the Year with the 94.9 KLTY listeners! Our team from Starlene & Hudson in the morning, Tony Lopez in the middays, Bonnie Curry in afternoons, Penny in the evenings to our weekend warriors, those behind the scenes and Frank Reed on Sunday mornings, they all have played a significant role in KLTY receiving this amazing honor. All glory to God for allowing us to continue to serve North Texas since 1985!

KLTY morning co-host John Hudson “Congratulations the 94.9 KLTY listeners!  John told HisAir, “This is their award and their honor. As the world continues to change, we are committed to the mission of growing and living in this beautiful community together. Thank you for inviting us into your life everyday. From the entire team, congratulations to you our listeners on making love your mission. Cheers! ~Hudson

Final nominees for the 2023 Religious Station of the Year were:

KLTY-FM, Dallas-Ft. Worth, Texas
WLCC-AM, Tampa-St. Petersburg-Sarasota, Fla.
WMIT-FM, Greenville-Spartanburg, S.C.-Asheville, N.C.
WNNL-FM, Raleigh-Durham, N.C.
WPRS-FM, Washington, D.C.

The 2023 nominees were announced in July on a livestream hosted in part by WGTS/Wah DC air personality Stacey Stone. Watch the entire video HERE.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *