Industry News

Industry News Bits 1-20-20

Happy National Radio DJ Day to all the brothers and sisters serving the Lord in Christian Radio worldwide… 

“The first disc jockey was an experiment on the airwaves. In 1909, sixteen-year-old Ray Newby was a student under the supervision of Charles “Doc” Herrold at Herrold College of Engineering and Wireless. He played the first records over the airwaves before the word disc jockey even existed. What started as an experiment from the Garden City Bank Building where the college was located in San Fernando, California, was soon being replicated by radio broadcasters across the country. Initially, Newby primarily broadcast his news, music, and entertainment live.”

Online registration for the 2020 CMB Station of the Year award started today. Entries need to be made by February 21st. Finalists will be announced on April 3rd.
Also,  CMB Special Awards registrations started today as well. This includes the Community Service Award, the Industry Achievement Award, and the Rich Mullins Artist Impact Award. Nominations must be made by a current CMB Member. Nominations should be submitted by February 21st and finalists will be announced on March 9th. Awards are given at Momentum this May. 

WCVO/Columbus (104.9 The River) has signed with Vidare Creative to provide fundraising services. Vidare will provide training, coaching, and hosting for the station’s on-air fundraisers, as well as ongoing fundraising support through their “Fundraising 365” strategy. In addition, Vidare Partner Paul Goldsmith will provide ongoing work with the station in programming consulting and talent coaching. 

WONU/Chicago debuts a brand new website. Check it out here… www.shine.fm

NRB has announced the recipients of the 2020 NRB Special Service & Media Awards, which recognize last year’s most outstanding ministries, facilities, and programs/producers in the world’s preeminent association of Christian broadcasters and communicators.

NRB’s Annual Media Awards program is designed to encourage excellence in production, service to the community, faithfulness to the mission, commitment to the Gospel, and personal integrity. There are seven areas of focus for the 2020 awards: Special Service, Church Media, Digital Media, Intercollegiate, International, Radio, and Television. (The Intercollegiate Awards will be announced during NRB 2020.)

All award recipients will be honored during the NRB 2020 Christian Media Convention, which will take place February 25-28 at the Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center in Nashville, Tennessee.

The recipients of the awards for Special Service, Church Media, Digital Media, International, Radio, and Television are as follows:


NRB Hall of Fame Award
Dr. David Jeremiah, Founder & CEO, Turning Point Ministries

William Ward Ayer Award for Distinguished Service
Dr. Michael Youssef, President & CEO, Leading The Way with Dr. Michael Youssef

Billy Graham Award for Excellence in Christian Communications
Compassion International

Milestone Award
Kay Arthur, Precept Ministries International

Mart DeHaan, Our Daily Bread Ministries
Don Hughes, NewLife Radio
Jack Pelon, Pillar of Fire Radio Network


Radio Station of the Year
89.5 KNVE – Encouragement Media Group

Radio Program of the Year
Focus on the Family – “Adventures in Odyssey”

Radio Impact Award
Hope For the Heart – “Hope in the Night”

The Jeff and Randy Show celebrates its 2nd year on on KLOVE
Dennis Hutchinson celebrates 2 years at Promise FM January 22

Prayer List:
Heather Sheppard The Light Radio Network
Michele Younkman
Taylor Morgan

Submit your station or label news HERE

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *